Isaiah 20

at the same time the Lordspoke by Isaiah the son of Amoz, saying, “Go, and remove the sackcloth from your body, and take your sandals off your feet.” And he did so, walking naked and barefoot.Then the Lord said, “Just as My servant Isaiah has walked naked and barefoot three years for a sign and a wonder against Egypt and Ethiopia, (Isaiah 20:2-3 NKJV)

I read this this morning and was floored. My pastor talked about it a little last night too. Isaiah walked around barefoot and naked for 3 years. Wow right? I mean yeah, he was a prophet so he knew when God was talking to him – but still dude! To have that type of faith! Made me think about listening to Gods voice…or even Gods call on your life and having faith in that calling.

Then He said, “Go out, and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; 12 and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice. (1 Kings 19:11-12 NKJV)

I know and agree – its hard. Feeling God call you to leave that job, or talk to that person or just reaching out to someone for ministry. How can you be sure? Is it you or is it God? How can you know? How do you listen to hear Gods still small voice?

Faith.

I asked my pastors wife about this. She said in her experience, you just feel an unbelievable urge to do something. Usually thats the Lord trying to tell you something. Then she gave me an example: This one person was standing in an aisle of a grocery store – just ready to do something (sorry I can’t be more specific, my memory is shot). The person cried a simple prayer in the most ridiculous way they could think of: “God please show me you are real by making someone come in here and do a handstand in the middle of this aisle”. A minute passes by and a woman walks in to the aisle, looks around and does a handstand. The person, who prayed, ran up to her and asked why she did that; to which she replied she just felt an unbelievable urge to do this. In fact, she almost didn’t do it too.

What if that woman ignored God? I don’t know. I don’t have this all figured out – I’m learning like you. But friend, what is God calling you to do? Call upon the Lord. Let God use you in a mighty way, by blessing someone…anyone.

I know its scary – I’m right there with ya. But trust. Trust God and know He’s in control. Pray continually for wisdom and open your heart and? Have faith.

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. (1John 4:18 NKJV)

Open your heart to God and let Him work through you – mighty things will happen.

6 thoughts on “Isaiah 20

  1. A wonderful, powerful post. I think fear gets in my way too often. Too often I worry, “what would people think?” Or make other worldly excuses instead of trusting God.

    I am always amazed about how King David danced to honor God, with so much irregard for worldly views, he embarrassed his wife but still would not stop praising the Lord! I wantore of that in my life!

Leave a Reply

