Isaiah 18

This chapter is pure prophesy against Ethiopia (which was the enemy of Israel then and this prophesy is seen completed in Acts 8:26-40) and you can read some interpretations here of this chapter – but I was struck by some verses.

Woe to the land shadowed with buzzing wings,
Which is beyond the rivers of Ethiopia,
Which sends ambassadors by sea,
Even in vessels of reed on the waters, saying,
“Go, swift messengers, to a nation tall and smooth of skin,
To a people terrible from their beginning onward,
A nation powerful and treading down,
Whose land the rivers divide.” (Isaiah 18:1-2 NKJV)

We as a people have done terrible things and continue to do terrible things, in my opinion. We are full of ourselves to think this can't touch us or that…and so on. Why?

Therefore, just as through one man sin entered the world, and death through sin, and thus death spread to all men, because all sinned— (Romans 5:12 NKJV)

We are sinful creatures. We fail yes, but sometimes we make a conscientious effort to fail – ya know?

But these verses in Isaiah just struck me as a warning. A warning to myself. I am such a sinner, I am so selfish….oh how I could go on. I need to keep Christ the center of my life. Where am I going with this? God wants to be in your life as well. He is standing there with His arms out waiting for you to accept Him.

But Jessica? I am saved. I am a Christian. well. I'm glad you said that.

For before the harvest, when the bud is perfect
And the sour grape is ripening in the flower,
He will both cut off the sprigs with pruning hooks
And take away and cut down the branches. (Isaiah 18:5 NKJV)

God is coming back and soon. Now He doesn't want anyone to be left behind, so God has called us to be witnesses; to be examples of His love to everyone we come across. He wants everyone to spend eternity in heaven, not that He needs help, but He knows helping others causes us to grow.

Lets be that witness together.

Leave a Reply

