Mental Illness and the Church

I wrote a post about this on my other blog – but I wasn’t where I should be. I’m not now, but I’m better. I know I said I wouldn’t make this blog about me – but a conversation I had yesterday AND the post I did yesterday, made me start thinking.

IMG_6961But before I get into that – lemme explain about me. I have two kids, a son and a daughter. When I my son I developed postpartum depression (and anxiety) and I went undiagnosed. I was severely depressed and anxious and I thought – “Psshh….I got this. I got the Lord.” Then I gave birth to my daughter and I developed postpartum psychosis. I went undiagnosed for so long because – again – I thought “I don’t need help”. Finally when I got help, I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I was so severely….gone….that i couldn’t see the Lord. I couldn’t even hear things about God cause…..I was just so sick.

My family didn’t understand (and neither did I actually) what i was going through so they kept pushing what they only knew: “You need the Lord” “You need to pray more”. I remember I went through a period where I was having – I don’t even know what to call it actually – my mom prayed over me and nothing happened. I think that was the point she realized I was so sick.

I finally got on a set of meds that helped me stabilize and, my friend even then I couldn’t fathom God. I know that seems so weird to say – but I just couldn’t.

So here I am “stable” and I am still so severely depressed. At this point I had tried to kill myself 3xs. I talked to the doctor who told me plain and simple “there is no medicine strong enough to get rid of your depression completely.” I told this to my mom and she said: “Well, you need the Lord.” It kind of hit me then, I need Jesus.

I started this blog, I started doing bible studies w older women at the church and I started to see the light of day. Then I lost sight after I became obsessed with losing weight – but I digress.

Do you see the point I’m trying to make? Mental illness is so devastating to a person they IMG_6989can’t think of anything else. At some points they may wonder why they are alive. At some points …. it doesn’t matter. What matters is how you deal with it.

You as a person not suffering. What do you need to do? Be there and love.

There will come a point where they will see the truth. If you keep praying for them, they will see the truth. The important thing is to not push – cause you will push them away.

Be there and love them.

Love. Thats so important. Christ has called us to love and we need to love unconditionally. Yes. I know how hard that is – but you need to strive for it.

Christ has given us such a wonderful gift and people suffering from a mental illness can’t see it sometimes. But what do you hafta do? Be that witness. Love them. Be there for them. Never give up.

So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;
It shall not return to Me void,
But it shall accomplish what I please,
And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:11, NKJV)

Leave a Reply

