Song of Solomon 8:7

Many waters cannot quench love,
Nor can the floods drown it.
If a man would give for love
All the wealth of his house,
It would be utterly despised.

(Song of Solomon 8:7, NKJV)

I had trouble understanding this chapter. It seemed to go back in forth through many people. I had to read it several times to understand it. Chapter 8 is about love. All types of  love.

Its about protection, providing, comfort. Love.

It was so perfect for me. Ha, Gods timing is perfect – can I get an amen? You see I’m not a person who trusts very easily. Hard life and all. Its made me “grumpy” towards people.

Obviously, I want to live a life glorifying toward the Lord but being hurt as many times as I have? Its hard.

This was so perfect.

Set me as a seal upon your heart,
As a seal upon your arm;
For love is as strong as death,
Jealousy as cruel as the grave;[a]
Its flames are flames of fire,
A most vehement[b] flame. (Song of Solomon 8:6, NKJV)

We need to love. Christ calls us to love. Oh, i remember one pastor saying:

You don’t need to like the person – but you need to love them

That just hit me.

Christ calls us to love. I mean how could we as a people dare to not love? God has forgiven us so much! all those thoughts and ideas and things? He’s forgiven us – He has shown us true love.

I know, I know. We are not perfect. We are not always gonna love – but it is our job to try. Love your neighbor, protect them, comfort them, laugh with them, cry with them. Show them how much Christ loves them by your actions.

Love my friend.

Leave a Reply

