Song of Solomon 7:10

I belong to my beloved,
    and his desire is for me. (Song of Solomon 7:10 NIV)

At first i was hesitant about going through this book; but man its really blessing me like crazy.

A little back story, recently I was working as a beachbody coach. Then my health took a turn for the worse. Long story short – I have Celiac Disease, a soy allergy and a milk allergy. I also found out that I have severe degeneration of my lower spine (because of how overweight I was and a slight curve of my spine). 

Anyways, enough of me. I read this verse this morning and it hit me. I lost sight of God.

Not shocking as the world is so tempting and distracting. It happens unfortunately. To even those you wouldn’t think it could happen, but it happens.

Unfortunately, I had to go through several trials before I realized what God was trying to say to me (I’m hard headed). I was getting healthy (which is great), but then I became obsessed with it. I was….I was…..I was putting beachbody and getting healthy before God.

I mean yeah, I was reading the bible; but I wasn’t applying what I learned. Shoo – I wasn’t even going to in depth to get something from it and most days I didn’t even try to read the bible.

Im sorry – I did it again. talked about me. What am I trying to say?

You are a child of God. He loves you so much. He wants you to put Him first. Don’t lose sight of that cause He is a jealous God.

Do not worship any other god, for the Lord, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God. (Ex 34:14 NIV)

What does that mean? Exactly what it says. No really, think about it. You have a child that starts calling someone, other than the parent, Mom/Dad? Yea….that.

Granted my explanation is no where near the truth but its how I think of it.

God created you and wants you. He’s not gonna push you to love Him or serve Him. He’s not gonna yell from heaven: “Hey wake up! I’m here to help you, ya fool”

He’s not like that – but he does want all of you. He will do things to get your attention actually – like He did to me. Its your choice to listen.

I mean He literally gave you everything He could think of…..why can’t you give Him some time?

2 Comments

  1. Amen. I tell folks to never say never because until you are in that position you don’t know what you will say or do. We all get distracted by the world and of our own desires. It’s nice seeing a post on the Book of Song Solomon, not to many people read it or even share it. It’s not just for married couples to read together it’s for us all.

    Have a bless day

Leave a Reply

