Song of Solomon 5

I’ve been going through the bible slowly but surely – and this book has really hit me. How beautiful our relationship with the Lord is. Here are some of the thoughts I have…

SS 5:7-8 The watchmen that went around the city found me, they smote me, they wounded me; the keepers of the walls took away my veil from me. I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, if ye find my beloved, that ye tell him, that I am sick of love…

Wow. How true to what we go through. I know personally with my child going through their problems, my health problems and us saving money to buy a house and so much more – I’ve felt so wounded and hurt and yes, I’ve despaired. I suffer from bipolar – not much a stretch right? Ha. But then heres the perfect reminder….

SS 5:10-16 My beloved is white and ruddy, the chiefest among ten thousand. His head is as the most fine gold, his locks are bushy, and black as a raven. His eyes are as the eyes of doves by the rivers of waters, washed with milk, and fitly set. His cheeks are as a bed of spices, as sweet flowers: his lips like lilies, dropping sweet smelling myrrh. His hands are as gold rings set with the beryl: his belly is as bright ivory overlaid with sapphiresHis legs are as pillars of marble, set upon sockets of fine gold: his countenance is as Lebanon, excellent as the cedars. His mouth is most sweet: yea, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, and this is my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem. (highlights mine)

Of course this whole chapter is a love song between Solomon and the Shulamite woman. But as everything in the bible, its a picture of our relationship with God. My God is stronger than marble, brighter than ivory overlaid with sapphires. He is the chiefest among 10,000. He is KING ruler of all.

He can lead millions. He HAS lead millions – why can’t He handle my problems?

Never lose sight of the Lord – you will be lonely. You will be hurt. You will feel pain. I mean thats this world. you can’t go anywhere without feeling the sin of this world. But don’t give up.

Scream out to God. Cry. Feel that pain. But know that God is there. He wants to hold you and protect you.

You found yourself in a pit unable to find a way out but you know what? God is there, holding out a hand saying; “I got you”.

Reach for Him.

Leave a Reply

