Living like the world

I came across the last 2 days the same thing in my devotionals- well at least similar thoughts. Then I bought a book from Amazon (on my new kindle – sorry just so excited about it) that has some of Charles Spurgeon’ s sermons and quotes.

It was a great reminder for me to stop living like the world.  Yup, I’ve been flailing and its because I was trying to live like the world. See? I say this stuff and apply it to my own life too.

2Co 5:16
16 From now on, therefore, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we once regarded Christ according to the flesh, we regard him thus no longer.
(ESV)

I definitely needed the reminder but I thought maybe you guys did too. Once we live in sin we no longer are living for Christ- ie: living w someone but going to church or Go get drunk and go to church the next day.

Also this verse is talking of if we start to let the world askew our view of the world and the church – we are no longer living for Christ. He is no longer center of our lives, in fact I would push to say he is no longer in our lives if we let the world tell us how to run our church.

This past something election (i think it was the presidential one) we were voting for gay marriage in our state. Well, WE were voting against it, but I think you get my drift. My mother went to go vote and a fellow voter* told her to vote for gay rights so that we could keep our religious freedoms – “which we’ve always had”….my mother added as she stood there for a moment shocked.

She didn’t engage her, because well friends like uncle Si says: “You can’t fix stupid Jack”.

GOD forgive me – I need to be serious.

See? Already the world is trying to tell the church what to do…and some sadly are listening.

2Co 6:17
17 Therefore go out from their midst, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch no unclean thing; then I will welcome you,
(ESV)

We need to be separate from the world. Not trying to be like them. They should be trying to be like us……no. Like God as we are trying to live like Christ so should they. For so long we as Christians have tried to be apart of everything. Try to fit in is not for us friends, we can’t for we are called to stand out

* previously I had put that the person in question was a “Christian” – but my mom corrected me after reading this.

One thought on “Living like the world

  1. While I don’t support that woman telling your mom how to vote, I think it is inappropriate to call into question through the use of quotes the sincerity of a person’s faith simply because they disagree with you on an issue. If one is not actually saved “by grace through faith” but also by whatever other standards we’d like to add on then I imagine we’re all in serious trouble.

Leave a Reply

